All Programmes


The Tears of the Sinner

Lodovico Agostini (1534-1590) and Roland de Lassus (1532-1594)

The Tears of the Sinner by Ludovico Agostini join the tradition of the spiritual madrigals given in the Italian confraternities during the Holy Week and are this day still totally new.

Published in 1586 and dedicated to the Duke of Mantoue, The Tears of the Sinner invites in the meditation on Saint Peter’s Denial, as the very famous Tears of Saint Peter by Roland de Lassus. This new work of the composer will be compared to Roland de Lassus’ work ; two contemporary pieces constituting the ultimate work, the swan song, of their author.


Véronique Bourin, soprano
Clara Coutouly, soprano
Paulin Bündgen, alto
Hugues Primard, tenor
Olivier Coiffet, tenor
Marc Mauillon, baritone
Marc Busnel, bass

Judith Pacquier, cornett
Eva Godard, cornett
Johanne Maitre, shawms, dulcinas, recorders
Elsa Frank, shawms, dulcinas, recorders
Jérémie Papasergio, shawms, dulcinas, recorders
Frank Poitrineau, sackbut
Denis Raisin Dadre, shawms, dulcinas, recorders and artistic direction